1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Working with bits

Hello

I'm working on a project which includes some LCD display and PS/2 keyboard and a microcontroller. Im studying examples on the web and this is a bit of code I dont understand:

Code:
     keyIn = keyIn >> 1;
             if (pinIn)
             {
                keyIn = keyIn | 0x80;
             }
             break;
    the keyin should be in the end the scan code of the pressed key, but i don't understand the process of making it so... pinin should be the input pin of the mcu which is connected to the keyboard data flow

could you please explain this bit of code to me?

thanks so much

midin
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

What part do you not understand? Do you understand what shifting is? Do you understand what ORing is? Do you understand bit-wise operations in C?

You also left out what I can only assume is the loop that this code snippet was lifted out of. As well as the declaration of keyIn and its initial value. Therefore, I will assume that keyIn is an unsigned char that is initialized to zero (ie, '\x00'). I will furthermore assume that a serial input bit stream is attached to the input pin and that that incoming bit stream is most significant bit (MSB) first.

You initialize keyIn to zero and loop 8 times. First you shift all the bits to the right by one ( >> 1) in order to make room for the next incoming bit. What gets shifted in is a zero. Then you test the level on the pinIn input, which would be the next bit (I also assume some kind of time delay to ensure that each time you hit that if-statement then it's the next bit and you're not just re-testing the same bit as the last time). If that bit is a 1, then you set the MSB of keyIn to 1 ( | 0x80). Of course, if that bit is zero, then you don't do anything since the MSB is already set to zero.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)