1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

C Book Recommendations

Hi guys,

Just asking if you have good books for beginning C? I'm currently self-studying these:

Absolute Beginner's Guide to C, 2E (Greg Perry)
    This book assumes no programming background and is very easy to understand. It can even be said that it's targeted to a younger audience, not that it is a bad thing. The book mainly covers the essential basics in C. The structure of the topics is very well laid out. The code examples are followed by code analysis. It does not have exercises to test the reader's learning at the end of the chapter, but it is strongly advised to have initiative when it comes to this.

Programming in C, 3E (Stephen G. Kochan)
    What the other book lacks, this one has. Kochan's book has exercises at the end of each chapter that evaluates the reader's understanding of the concepts. Compared to Perry's book, it is more textbook-like and technical, but nothing over the top. It is more comprehensive and goes more in-depth, but perhaps nothing way too advanced. Kochan is also generous enough to provide an answer key to his exercises (odd numbers only), which can be found on his official forum.

If you guys have other recommendations, I would be much interested to know. Thanks!
    Last edited by Scorpions4ever; April 20th, 2013 at 12:29 PM.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I learned C programming from the below book. I hope this may be help.

The C Programming Language by Brian W. Kernighan, Dennis M. Ritchie Highly recommended
    Nobody will question a choice to buy this book. Reading this book and performing the exercises is probably the best way to become a good C programmer. The book covers most of C in detail, and does an excellent job teaching programming idioms. If you are serious about programming, you should buy this book.
  5. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)