Thread: C or C++

Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

C or C++

Hi,

I am a first year uni student. I can Program in Perl and PHP currently, however I would like to move into the area of

1) Developing windows applications in C or C++.
    2) Developing CGI applications/Apache modules in C or C++.

I have not started to learn this languages yet, however I am not sure which one I should learn. My understanding is that they are both similar, but C++ allows object orientated programming.

Is C a good language to learn for the objectives I wrote above, or is C++ more suited to this? Any advice and/or reasons would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Cheers,
    Michael Bray
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Learn C first. As everything that you know from C will be able to be used in C++. Have some experience with Java too, so learning C++'s OO will be an easier experience.
  5. Contributing User

1) C++. Once you learn C++, you can use MFC to create windows apps. You can also use straight C to interact with the Windows API, but that's overkill. But as said before, you should learn C first. C++ is a superset of C.
    2) Sorry, never done any of this.
    Jon Sagara

"Me fail English? That's unpossible!"
  7. No Profile Picture
    Not there when you need me
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

2) CGI: whatever language you want, so long as it can do input and output. Both C and C++ are OK, although I find C++ better for this (never done it myself, though). It's the difference between
    Code:
    printf( "Content-Type: text/html\n\n<html>..." );
    and
    Code:
    cout << "Content-Type: text/html" << endl << endl << "<html>...";
    (I'm not sure if that's correct at all.)

Apache mods: they seem to be C, but you'll want to take a look at the docs.
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User