1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question C code generator

hi,i'm a beginner in C.i get a project to build a C code generator from Z specification. I should be using C to build it. but i got no experience how it sholud be done. I'm so blur tll i dunno where should I start. hope someone can help me out. thanx alot.
  3. No Profile Picture
    status unknown

Learn C first, then come back to it.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

well, thanx for tat suggestion. well, i got some background in C. just i dunno how to build a language translator. anyone build it b4?
  7. jasondoucette.com

Basically, you need to know how to parse text, like a compiler does. You needn't know anything about machine instructions, or anything, but this is a pretty complex job, as is. In university, I took a 3rd year course that dealt specifically with techniques of translators for programming languages, preprocessors, compilers, interpreters and assemblers. Not that it is that hard - but normally things covered in a 3rd year course is not a job for someone who barely knows C.
  9. No Profile Picture
    status unknown

Originally posted by childish_gal
    well, thanx for tat suggestion. well, i got some background in C. just i dunno how to build a language translator. anyone build it b4?
    I've built one before. It's not a task for someone who describes themself as a beginner in C.
  11. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

i know its not easy to build a translator. but i got no choice . the project is posted to me, i cant do anything except to learn how to do it. so u mind to teach me?
  13. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

hi, i really need from guideline froem someone about this C generator. hope someone can help
  15. /(bb|[^b]{2})/