Thread: C Compiler

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Exclamation C Compiler

Can anyone plz tell me which compiler is best for a bigginer?? I'm using Windows 8.
  3. Contributing User

For complete beginner even online compiler will do:

http://ideone.com
  5. Contributing User

The only requirement you need form a compiler is that it compiles your chosen language correctly. There is no best compiler for a beginner because a compiler does no more than translate your source code.

I think you are asking the wrong question and are perhaps confusing the compiler with a development environment.

I always encourage beginners to make effective use of a debugger; it makes learning a language easier and more interesting, and will speed your development greatly. There are few if any debuggers more powerful or easier to use than that integrated with Microsoft Visual Studio. The free Express editions of Visual C++, and Visual C# and are not crippled in terms of the compiler or debugger.

One minor issue with VC++ is that it does not fully support C99 or C11, (only those parts that are also C++). It is however a fully featured C++ compiler. A perhaps more serious issue depending on your point-of view is that visual GUI design requires the .Net framework, and with VC++ that necessitates the use of C++/CLI; Microsoft's C++ based language for managed code. If you want to use pure C++ and generate GUI applications, VC++ does not make it easy. If you choose VC#, then you are already committed to .NET and C# is designed from the ground-up to work with .NET so is a more natural choice if you wish to use .NET.

Another development environment you might use is Code::Blocks. This is packaged distributed for Windows with the MinGW/GCC toolchain, and includes the WxSmith visual development tools for producing cross-platform GUI designs using WxWidgets.