1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Converting a string to uppercase

Hello everybody I am trying to convert a lowercase string to uppercase by using C programming. I have managed to convert only the first letter of the string into uppercase, but that's it, only one character and I have a string that must be converted into uppercase characters. This is a school assignment and I have the full intention of learning the material but because it's a summer class, everything is going very fast and I am not understanding very much. If somebody could give me an explanation of how this code is working and how to fix it, I will appreciate it very much. The string is: hello, i am a student.

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
    {
    char lowercase, uppercase;
    printf("type a lowercase character: ");
    scanf("%c", &lowercase);

if(lowercase>='a' && lowercase<= 'z')
    {
    uppercase = ('A' + lowercase - 'a');
    }
    else
    uppercase = lowercase;
    printf("the uppercase character is %c", uppercase);

return 0;
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

So iterate through the rest of the string and repeat the operation. A string ends with a null-terminator, which is '\0' (ie, a character whose ASCII code is zero).
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by dwise1_aol
    So iterate through the rest of the string and repeat the operation. A string ends with a null-terminator, which is '\0' (ie, a character whose ASCII code is zero).
    I am strongly confused at the moment, but thank you for replying. I appreciate your help!
  7. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

You'll need a way to store and initialize a string. One way is

char*s = "hello starving student.";

There are other ways.