1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Detecting One Digital Signal Cycle

Hi, I am very new to C language having only used C++ when I was in university. I am using C at work and am faced with several difficulties:

I am trying to write a program that would detect levels in digital signal (1 or 0) and then get the duration from the first 0 of a cycle to the 0 on the next cycle, ie. duration of one cycle. For example, the data obtained for a digital signal cycle is 0 0 0 1 1 1 0. I will need to get the duration from the first 0 to the last 0 to indicate the total duration of a cycle.

How do I write this in C? The key point here would be to get the duration for one cycle using level detection.

Thanks in advance!
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

Let's suppose the input source is stdin.

Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>

void show(int a) {
      printf("duration %d\n",a);
    }

int main() { /* Lambert Electronics, LLC.  USA, NY */
      char s[2];
      int n = 0;
      while (1 == scanf("%1s", s)) {
        if ('0' == *s) {
          if (n) {
    	show(n);
    	n = 0;
          }
        } else if ('1' == *s)
          ++n;
        else
          fputs("input error\n",stderr);
      }
      if (n)
        show(n);
      return EXIT_SUCCESS;
    }
    [code]Code tags[/code] are essential for python code and Makefiles!
  5. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

You would write it in C largely the same way you would write it in C++, though without resorting to OOP. How would you write this in C++? How would that differ from C?

It sounds like this is an embedded programming problem, so console I/O (ie, stdin and stdout that in C++ you learned to access with cin and cout) would not apply.