1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

A doubt in pointers

Am a absolute beginner in C programming.
    My doubt is
    int a=10;
    int *b;

what is the difference between

b=a; and b=&a; ?
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

What's the difference? Well

This set the pointer b = 10.
    Code:
    b = a;
    And this sets the pointer b = address of a.
    Code:
    b = &a;
  5. No Profile Picture

How can that be possible?
    You cant assign a integer value to a integer pointer!!
  7. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Originally Posted by rajivprathap
    C is kind of a minimalist language. While many modern languages like Ada and C# will go out of their way to protect you from yourself, C has always assumed that you, the programmer, know what you are doing, so it lets you. That is a feature that was designed into C, because it was written by and for programmers who did know what they were doing.

So, then, yes you can indeed assign an integer value to an integer pointer. In some cases, such as loading an absolute address into a pointer (as you would do when writing embedded code), that is exactly what you want to be able to do. Of course, there are also the other cases where you are doing something completely stupid, but C still assumes that you know what you are doing and it will do what you tell it to do. Though a good compiler should give you warnings, which is why it is very important to read and heed warnings.

As for trying to figure out what certain code does, write a test program to test it out. For example:
    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>

int main()
    {
        int a=10;
        int *b;   

printf("The contents of a is %d; the address of a is %p\n", a, &a);
        printf("The address of a as an integer: %d, which in hex is 0x%X\n", &a, &a);
        b = &a;
        printf("The contents of *b is %d; b contains the address %p\n", *b, b);
        b = a;