1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Smile Problem with functions

Hello :)
    I'm a beginner in programming and I need some ideas for this problem:
    I have an integer i and an arbitrary collection of functions
    (f1,..., fn) that accept an integer argument and also return an integer.
    I have to write a program that returns a collection of integers representing the results of the application of those functions on the value of input, i.
    Example:
    4 and [add_one, multiply_by_five] => output will be [5, 20]. Another example of input: 7 and [subtract_three, add_two, multiply_by_three] => output will be [4, 9, 21].

Thank you, any help would be greatly appreciated! :)
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Here's a hint: we do not do anybody's homework for them. You need to make an honest effort to do your own work. If you encounter problems, then describe the specific problem and we will help you. We do want you to learn and will do what we can to help you to learn. Doing your work for you will not help you learn.

One proven way to approach a problem is to work it out by hand, describing in English (or whatever your native language is) in a step-by-step manner. From that natural language procedure you will see how to design your program.
  5. No Profile Picture

Yes, I know, you are right, but my first problem is that I don't know how to convert strings into numbers and operators.
    thanks
  7. Contributing User

That's relatively low-level, down in the details of the code. First, you need to design the overall program as I had described. Besides, there was nothing in your statement of the problem that said anything about converting strings into numbers and operators.