1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Talking GFX in DOS for a newbie

Hey, im a relative noob to C++, and i was wondering if anyone could help me to do GFX in a Consol Application.
    None of the standard include files don't seem to have anything to do with graphics, so I could really do with some help :)
    Thanks,
    JonWoG
  3. jasondoucette.com

You can't do graphics in just a Console App. The only thing you can do is ASCII graphics, like in Text Mode in DOS, but I don't think this is what you are looking for. You'll have to get into using the Windows GDI or DirectX (or OpenGL) for real graphics.
  5. No Profile Picture

Erm...
    On your site, i've seen 3D examples done in DOS?
    I'm not fussed if i have to use DX or OpenGl, i just need to do GFX.
    (Preferably not in Windows tho' :))
  7. jasondoucette.com

Yes, you can do graphics in DOS. You were asking to do graphics in a Console Application, which means you are using a Windows Operating System. If you wish to program in DOS, then there are some graphic units you can use to access graphics modes supported by standard VGA. Some are easy enough that you can access them directly yourself without a graphics unit. For example, a simple interrupt call can change the video mode into mode 13h (320x200x256 colors), and the memory at 0xA0000 is a linear frame buffer of all 64,000 pixels (one byte per pixel). Mess with them as you please, and the display changes immediately, as this memory is mapped over the video memory for this mode. However, stuff like this CANNOT be done from within Windows. The purpose of windows was to provide a standard API to access anything available for hardware, and therefore direct accessing to interrupts and video memory is not allowed. If you wish to have the performance gains of such a set-up, go with DirectX, in which it allows direct access to video memory and hardware accelerated graphic function calls, for drawing polygons, etc.