1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need help on linking error in C code!!

I am working in XP, Visual C++ v6 doing maintenance on existing report preparing codes. I am new to C++ language and to C/C++ programming. I have a linking error and would appreciate some expert help.

error mssges:
    :\Documents and Settings\IVarma\Desktop\kunda\Modcode.cpp(916) : warning C4508: 'main' : function should return a value; 'void' return type assumed
    Linking...
    Modcode.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "int __cdecl open_cluster(void)" (?open_cluster@@YAHXZ)
    Modcode.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _BTRV@24
    Modcode.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "char * dbpath" (?dbpath@@3PADA)
    Modcode.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _fatal
    Modcode.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _set_multi_defaults
    Modcode.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "char * __cdecl get_option(void)" (?get_option@@YAPADXZ)
    Modcode.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "int __cdecl new_decode_cluster(char *,char (* const)[4][100])" (?new_decode_cluster@@YAHPADQAY13GE@D@Z)
    Debug/Modcode.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 7 unresolved externals
    Error executing link.exe.
  3. Commie Mutant Traitor
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

The errors all appear to be unresolved dependencies, which means that there are functions and external variables which you are referring to in your code, but which aren't getting included in the list of libraries to link into the program. Where are open_cluster(), get_options(), etc. from? Are they in a library you are using, or another source file which is part of what you're compiling?