1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Intialization list

I'm studying a chapter on dynamic memory allocation, and I came up with a question on array initialization.
    When you declare an array, you have the option to initialize it with the initialization list {}.
    Why can't you do this outside declarations?
    What's so special about a declaration that allows you to use the list {}?

I found this unintuitive, because for variables of simple data types, you can initialize the value either in the declaration or outside the declaration.
    Code:
    int x = 3;

int x;
    x = 3;
    Both these are valid.

I googled "programming c array initialization" and [URL = https://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/comphelp/v8v101/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.xlcpp8a.doc%2Flanguage%2Fref%2Fstrin.htm]this article[/URL] but I couldn't find my answer.
  3. Contributing User

once array is declared,name of array represent address so u can't assign list to array once its declared.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Are you saying that
    1. a list is also a type of pointer
    2. because memory is allocated for the array, the array has its own address that is different from the list
    3. therefore assigning the list to the array would be saying like "3 = 5"?
  7. Contributing User

Originally Posted by 046
    Are you saying that
    1. a list is also a type of pointer
    2. because memory is allocated for the array, the array has its own address that is different from the list
    3. therefore assigning the list to the array would be saying like "3 = 5"?
    yes exactly.
    name of array is constant pointer so u can't change its value once it's declared.
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

name of array is constant pointer so u can't change its value once it's declared.
    Now I see; I forgot about the fact that you can't say
    Code:
    char str[30]
    str = "hello"