1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

best language to learn for the following purposes ....

Hi,

I hope I'm posting this in an acceptable place. I know the question is kind of general, but my forum searches didn't turn up much, and I'm just looking for as many views on this as possible:

I'm a very unexperienced programmer -- I know a smidgeon of QBasic, some general FlashMX ActionScript, and that's about it. I'd say it's been just enough to give me a general idea of how programming works, and some common types of commands and concepts applied therein.

I would like to get into programming in a new language with the ultimate goal of being able to create visually pleasing RPG/Adventure games of at least a 16-bit console system caliber. I've recently obtained 3DS Max and may teach myself some 3-D modelling but all-in-all my goals aren't too lofty. Recreations of things in the line of Super Metroid, Zelda, etc.

So, I'm wondering what some of you recommend for aims of this type. I have heard that Visual Basic is easiest for the kind of thing I want to do, but that in the long haul C++ is more versatile and powerful and gets you into better programming habits. And now there's C# which I'm curious about too.

I guess I can boil my questions down into a couple specifics:

1) For a relative beginner, is C++ just too much of a task to learn as a spare-time hobby?

2) Do the benefits of C++ outweight the ease of Visual Basic for someone with no intentions of ever doing this professionally?

and

3) If I were to go the C route, should I do C++ or just start with C#?

Thanks in advance.

Bryan
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

IMHO --

C++ is overall the best language to learn if you're serious about programming.