1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Learning to create windows manually in VC++

I've been kinda thrown to the wolves at work and am needing to learn VC++. My background is in Pascal, early Delphi, but I'm currently mostly Visual Basic and Perl.

I'm having to update/modify a program that uses MFC only for some interface screens but were implemented by hand and not by using the class wizard. I need to learn how to do the same thing so I can add some more interfaces.

I've been looking through "Beginning Visual D++" and "Teach Yourself Visual C++" but they do everything through the class wizard. Any thoughts on where to look or what books would help me out with this?
    There are only 10 kinds of people in this world. Those who understand binary, and those who don't!
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

We also have some hybrid Windows apps here, so I can sympathize.

First, I hope you already have a background in C/C++. The hardest time I had when I transitioned from Pascal to C was in figuring out character strings. At least you should already be familiar with most of the object-oriented concepts from Delphi.

Second, it's not clear to what extent the app you need to maintain uses MFC. Does it have message maps to route the events to the event handlers or does it have a WndProc that handles the messages with a giant switch statement?

Of course VC++ books will emphasize using the Class Wizard. That's the VC++ approach. But the good news is that VC++ is not like VB; you can still go in and work directly with the code bypassing the development tools. The main thing that I find the Class Wizard does for me is to generate the right event handler parameters and to tie dialog controls to member variables for automatically initializing and reading the control values. But I can still write that myself, so the Class Wizard is not essential, though it does make life a bit easier.