1. No Profile Picture
    "Null, The Terminator"
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

linux C questions

hi friends

i am new to linux programming using C ( i am neither noew to lin or C). I want to achieve some things in lin...but couldnt get the properway to do it.

1. I want nonblocking wait sys call....like it waits for sometime..if the child is finished till then OK..otherwise kill the child....

2. How do i know the status of the child process if its alive or dead. I read somewhere, use c=kill(pid,0) if c=0 the child is there otherwise its gone...but it doesnt worx on lin.

3. I want a child to suspend and resume its job as per the parent wants.

the help in this regard will be a lot appriciated.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I haven't written code to test it, but at least according to my Linux man pages kill behaves identically on Linux to how it behaves on OpenBSD and FreeBSD. It should return 0 if the process exists and will accept the signal, and a non-zero return otherwise. The errno to check for is ESRCH, indicating that the process did not exist. Any other error would tend to indicate that it exists but isn't interested in talking to you.

Also, while working on the C language, could you work on the English language? I'll understand if it isn't your native tongue, but your question was a little hard to understand.
    Clay Dowling
    Lazarus Notes
    Articles and commentary on web development
    http://www.lazarusid.com/notes/
  5. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

I think you're talking about the wait() function. The int* status parameter returns the exit code of the child process, assuming that it terminated normally; otherwise status is NULL. There are macros you can use to evaluate a non-NULL status -- read the man page (man 2 wait on Red Hat 7).

For non-blocking, use waitpid() with the WNOHANG option set. You can read about this function on the wait man page.
  7. No Profile Picture