1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

newbie - probs passing argv to function and adding char to it

Hi there,

I am extremely new to C (coming from a java and basic background), this is day 2!

I am writing a small program to split words into trigrams (groups of three letters). My main function handles user input of words. It passes each word to a function called "space". For the purposes of the trigram algorithm i require a space appended to the beginning and end of each word entered. I need "space" to return the newly appeneded space.

The code is very much a work in progress where chunks are not implemented... however the "space" function does all it is needed to do - at least logically i think it does.

When i compile the code i get an error (i am using VC++ 6.0 on winXP). The error is as follows:-

d:\code\ngram\ngram.cpp(64) : error C2664: 'strcat' : cannot convert parameter 2 from 'char' to 'const char *'
    Conversion from integral type to pointer type requires reinterpret_cast, C-style cast or function-style cast
    Error executing cl.exe.

I assume this means that I have rushed through the explanation of pointers and i am passing the wrong thing to my "space" array, or something similar. Can anyone please point out what i have done wrong - and if possible a brief explanation as to why it is wrong / suggest what i would need to do? Any help is greatfully received - learning a new language without any help is a frustrating process!

Thanks in advance,

Nick Cox
    aceduk

Here is my code :- (complete with typos and notes to self)
    Code:
    /* WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING		*
     *Currently the program will only cope with words LARGER than the NGRAMSIZE value, to correct this we need to look at changing	*
     *the number of spaces added to the start and end of words - ignoring grams entirely made up of ' ' characters.					*