1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How to output one value rather than several with a while loop? C++

I am new to c++. I have a problem outputting one value (or a few) rather than several values The program is designed to fin a value for X. such value of X must make the value of H as close to 10 as possible. Thus, variable "close =H-10" must be close to 0. When the program is ran, several values are displayed, going from 9 to 13 adding DX=0.0125 every time. How can I output (display) only one value, or less than 4 rather than hundreds of them?
    The first part of the code where I state the variables is right, I believe. The the last part is where I need help.

CODE:

#include <iostream>
    #include <math.h>

using namespace std;

int main()
    {
    double x=9;
    while (x<13) // The while loop is used to calulate the numbers from 10 to 13.

{
    double H,A,B; // H is a function where A and B are the variables(H=(A,B)). A and B are sides of triangles.
    double DX; // DX is the amount added every time.
    double close; // The answer must be close to 10.
    A= sqrt (pow(20,2)- pow(x,2)); // From Pythagoras' theorem.
    B= sqrt (pow(30,2)- pow(x,2));
    H= (A*B)/(A+B);
    DX=0.125;
    closeness = H-10.0;
    cout<< H <<endl;
    x= x+DX;

{
    const double DELTA = 0.50; // This is how close the answer has to be from 10
    if(fabs(closeness)<=DELTA);
    cout <<closeness << endl; // Display answer, only one!
    }

}
    cin.get();
    return 0;
    }
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

When you post code here, please use code tags. HTML strips out white space, which includes leading spaces and tabs that are used to indent code. Code tags keep HTML from doing that. These are code tags: [code] [/code] Simply type them and then copy-and-paste your code between them. Having retrieved your formatting via the Reply button, here is what code tags would have done for you:
    Code:
    #include <iostream>