1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Currently Poland, sometimes London, originally Wales . . .

Passing structure pointer by reference to function

Hi,

Let me start by saying that I am relatively new to the topic of C/C++ and so please excuse my lack of exact terminology.

I am developing a small program which focuses on a linked list of structures. This is being done as a learning exercise.

I am looking to separate out the code into functions. Although I'm quite familar with functions in general, I am getting a bit lost regarding how to create a function to add a node to a linked list.

I have had no problems in defining a structure and using pointers to build a linked list and to allocate/deallocate memory for nodes within the list.

I would now like to add a function that will add a node to the linked list and populate it with data. Data is being read from a file and will be passed as arguments to the function. The function should operate on data within itself in such a way that the result of the operation are seen outside of the function.

I have seen many example functions whereby two integers are defined within the main function and passed by reference to a function such that the values of the integers are seen outside of the function without the function returning values.

It is this same technique that I would like to apply to my linked list program. I believe I might be able to get my head round it if I were merely dealing with structures directly as I could then pass them by reference to a function, however as I am dealing with the linked list via pointers only I just can't seem to get the hang of it.

I'll try and explain clearly what I have and what I am trying to achieve and I would greatly appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction - I'm not looking for a full solution (that would take the fun out of the learning process), just some short examples and suggestions.