1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Pointers: very basic question

Hey there,
    I'm new to C and I just got started in pointers. In a given tutorial I get "segmentation fault: 11" when reproducing this simple code:

#include <stdio.h>
    int main(){
    int *n;
    *n = 20;
    printf("%i\n", *n);
    return 0;
    }

Why do I get "segmentation fault: 11" when I was supposed to get 20 as output?
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

1) use code tags. Surround your code with [ code ] and [ /code ] (without the spaces)

2) you have a pointer: n. It is not initialized: you cannot safely put things where it points to (it doesn't point anywhere relevant) or look where it points.

Try this
    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>

int main(void) {
        int pointee = 42;
        int *n;
        n = &pointee; /* make n point to the pointee */
        printf("%d\n", pointee);
        printf("%d\n", *n);
        *n = 20;
        printf("%d\n", pointee);
        printf("%d\n", *n);
        return 0;
    }
  5. No Profile Picture

Thanks, your code worked fine. I tried doing something different and this time it worked.

Code:
    #include <stdio.h>

int main(){

// printing a pointer

int *p;
    	*p = 100;

int n = 200;

printf("Address [%p] = [%d]\n", p, *p);
    	printf("Address [%p] = [%d]\n", &n, n);  

return 0;
    }

When I go back to my first example and changed to this it still gave me the segmentation fault:

Code:
    #include <stdio.h>

int main(){

/*
    	POINTERS
    	*/

// *a (sets variable a as a pointer)
    	// &b (returns the memory address of variable b)

int *n;
    	*n = 290;

// printing the memory address of *n
    	printf("Memory address: %p\n", n);
    	printf("Value: %i", *n);

/*
    	// this will print 20
    	printf("%i\n", *n);
    	*/

return 0;
    }
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by Alcorel
    I tried doing something different and this time it worked.