Thread: Problems in c

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Post Problems in c

Hi! I am new to c and I am facing lols of problems. Here I am introducing one of those problems and I really need help to understand how the compiler compile the following:

Code:
    #include <stdio.h>

int main ()
    {
    	int i = 0, j;
    	j =i + ++i + ++i;
    	printf ("%d\n", j);
    	return 0;
    }
    output is : 4

Why the output is 4 and how? What is going on in j = i + ++i + ++i;
  3. Transforming Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

5. Contributing User

Why do you care? You simply should not write code like that; it is easy to avoid. In fact you have to try extra hard just to write such pointless code.

This is exactly the kind of pointless question beloved of setters of C homework assignments, and therefore your question looks like a thinly disguised attempt to get your homework done.

I sympathise with you if you have a tutor who thinks that this is a useful assignment, but all you need learn from this is that the rules regarding expression evaluation and sequence points with post- and pre- increment/decrement are sufficiently arcane for you to know to avoid using them in that way.

Ask yourself; when would I ever want to write code like that and for what purpose?

Follow this simple rule:
    "never use post or pre increment/decrement in an expression involving any other operators or more than one variable."
    This restricts usage to expressions of the form:

Code:
    i++ ;
    ++i ;
    i-- ;
    ++i ;
    and in C at least means that it makes no difference whether your use pre-or post form, so choose one and stick to that exclusively.