1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

C programming (help for string problem)

Hello, I am a beginner in C programming.
    I need help with tasks related to the string.
    "Write a program that the string with s[200000], to add to a string x, which is a letter of the alphabet."

I tried all the ways but not asleep, because when I use strcat (s, x), there is a problem: the string: "alexa" string to "p" strcat (s, x), and then the string looks like this "plexa" or something like that...
    I think I need to put a string in the middle of a string a new string and just move it, depending on whether the string to be placed in front of or behind a string?

CAN SOMEONE HELP ME?
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Show us the code, because your narrative does not make sense. Show us the code fragment that declares s and x, sets the values of s and of x, calls strcat and then the printf that displays the resultant concatenated string.

We've used strcat many many time with consistent results. You're doing something wrong, but we can't know what that something wrong is until you show us the code.

And please use code tags.
  5. No Profile Picture

#include <stdio.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>
    #include <string.h>

unsigned int N; //n strlen of string
    char s[200000];
    char x[1]; //is a letter of alphabet

void strcatXandS(void){
    strcat(s,x);

}

int main(){
    int i;
    scanf("%u",&N);
    for(i=0;i<N;i++){
    s[i]=getchar();
    }
    strcatXandS();
    putchar(strcat(s,x));
    return 0;
    }
  7. Contributing User

Use code tags. And also indent your code, especially if you're going to use a fracked up style like K&R that absolutely requires consistent indenting.

Your code, using code tags and formatted properly with Allman style:
    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>
    #include <string.h>

char s[200000];
    char x[1]; //is a letter of alphabet

void strcatXandS(void)
    {