1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Programming an Internet Chat Server

Hi all,
    I am looking to build an Internet chat server to acommodate some of the requirements specs of recent projects. The bad news is that I am very new to the TCP/IP networking world. I need a general opinion of what I should do? First of all, what language should I implement this with. My options are C, PERL, PHP, and JAVA(combinations are also accepted.)
    Please let me know where if there any good introductory books out there onh devloping web servers and things that I might need to know before I start designing the web server.
    Also, please tell me why you choose the programming language that you did and what the advantages are over the other ones. Thank you.
  3. Contributing User

why do u try to write ur own internet chat server, since there r many internet chat server alreay free to download ...
    search at google for " internet chat server "
    you'll find the answer-.

-stagy
  5. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

stage_watchman makes a very valid point. It's normally advisable to avoid re-inventing the wheel, especially if there's a deadline and you're just starting to learn how to do it.

However, it could also be the case that you want to use this excuse ... I mean, opportunity ... to learn network programming.

I've started putting a set of sockets programming pages up on the Web at http://members.aol.com/dsc30574/sockets/index.html . It's starting out more of an orientation for programmers who are just starting out with sockets. At the very least, I'm trying to give people an idea of what's involved and to provide them with links to get started. In that case, you should make sure to look at my resources page at http://members.aol.com/dsc30574/sockets/resources.html .