1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Y or N prompt code in C

I'm a Beginner trying to learn C and I'd just now come across an exercise in the ebook I'm learning out of that says to write a program that asks a Yes/No prompt and I'm stuck as to how I should do it.

What I have so far is this:

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
    {
    char answer;
    int Y,N,y,n;
    printf("Are you man?");
    getchar();

if(answer == Y || answer == y)
    {
    printf("Hello, Mr. User!");
    }
    if(answer == N || answer == n);
    {
    printf("Hellow, Mrs. User!");
    }
    }
    I want it to where it just shows "Hello, Mr. User!" if I press "Y," but as it is now it's showing both messages at once (it's also showing the one that should only show if "N" is pressed). What am I doing wrong?

It'd be appreciated if I could some help with this. Thanks a lot.
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

1. You declared main to return an int and were very correct to do so. But you didn't return an int. At the end of main, you at least need a return 0; statement.

2. Use code tags. Code tags preserve your code's indentation, whereas quote tags do not. Of course, you also need to indent your code properly and consistently.

3. If you want to test what the user has input, then you need to read input from the user. You did not do that. You apparently want to use the variable, answer, to store the character that the user inputs. So do that! As your program is now, you just throw away that input character. Save it in answer!

4. What are the variables, Y, y, N, and n and what are you using them for? Stupid question: do you intend Y to be a char that contains 'Y', y to be a char that contains 'y', N to be a char that contains 'N', and n to be a char that contains 'n'? If so, then why didn't you do that? Or for that matter, you could have just compared answer to the literal values 'Y', 'y', 'N', and 'n'.