1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

A question about structures and functions in C++

I have a rotator for satellite tracking and it's possible to program it using C++.

This file, which is provided by the manufacturer, contains a different structures and functions, but I don't know how to use it to program the rotator, I'm a newbie in C++. I am a new user, so I can't attach the file :(

I just like to know what should I do with these structs and functions in order to start programming the rotor to point out a certain position, then I'll try to write the code. Should I create a library or something similar?

Thank you in advance
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Basically, what the manufacturer gave you is a library. Those structures are used to contain the settings and values pertaining to the rotator and its operations and its data outputs. Those functions are used to manipulate those structures among other things.

With most products I've seen in the past, the manufacturer includes documentation about the data structures and functions that they provide in the library, along with application notes which describe how to apply that library to an actual, albeit simple, project. At the very least, there would be at least one sample program. Such examples would include code for initializing the data structures and the hardware, for either commanding the hardware or reading data from it, and maybe something about shutdown/clean-up.