Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. Eager to learn
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Questions about C

I'm fairly new to C. I've dabbled in C++ and Java, and I have a course in C this fall so I am trying to grasp the basics

I'm playing around with trying to display basically "hello world" and I keep getting a warning "Source code not compiled" when I run it. I feel as if it might be something with DevC++ but I saved it as a C file, not C++. Any ideas? I'm definately compiling it with success, just can't run it. I even googled a hello world example and it didn't help at all.

Code:
    /* This is cool comment that I made */

int main()

{
       printf("press enter to continue...\n");
       system("pause");

return 0;
    }
    Last edited by Skipt; August 4th, 2013 at 03:21 PM.
    "Quality of responses may vary. I reserve the right to change my mind for any reason what-so-ever without admitting I was wrong. I'd prefer to change your mind however, it's easier on my ego". - jwdonahue

"so no-one has actually bothered to post an original quote ? what's wrong with making up your own?"
    - marnixR
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

I also use Dev compiler.

printf("Hello World");

Or

puts("hello world");

Show your entire code.

And the other code you posted also works.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I'm definately compiling it with success, just can't run it.
    Are you sure?

What include files are you including? There should be at least two.

Jim
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by jimblumberg
    Are you sure?

Jim
    I ran his code without any include fles and it still compiled. We use the same compiler.

Maybe the window closes immediately after running the prog?

If yes then :

getch(); <------

return 0;

>Works??
  9. Eager to learn

Ive tried getch() and system("PAUSE");