1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Reading and analyzing variable length user input

Hello all,

I'm a programming newb. I need to write a program in C that performs actions on a set of 6 matrices(4x4).

The main issue is not the actions themselves(addition, subtraction, etc.) but reading input from the user and acting accordingly.

For example : read_mat A 5,6,2,
    means input the ints into matrix A

mul_mat A,B - multiply matrices A,B
    etc.

I'm instructed to look out for input mistakes like read_mat Z(Z doesn't exist)
    or read_mat A,B,5,6,7("Wrong parameters, second parameter should be a real number")
    or mul_mat A,5("5 isn't a matrix name")
    or kkkk A,B("kkkk isn't a command")

How do i go about doing this?
    Is there any standardized way of analyzing what the user is typing in?
    I tried tinkering with scanf but couldn't figure out how to account for the multitude of possibilities in what the user might type.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Emil
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)

A good first step would be to write a program that asks for input and then just display that. Once you get to that level, you take a step backwards and just write down a set of instructions in your native language and consider how to bend your program to fit.

Example:

1. First instruct the user on std output to enter a random string of characters followed by a carriage return.
    2. Read a line from std input.
    3. Write that line to std output.

If you first get yourself organized and demonstrate some willingness to work the problem, you'll get more and better assistance than if you simply post your homework assignment. If there was simple "standard way" to do it, the world wouldn't need any programmers.
    I no longer wish to be associated with this site.
  5. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)