1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

reading in characters and checking capitalization, no strings allowed

I'm just starting to learn c++ and I'm having problems figuring this out:

I Have to read in a poem of four lines one character at a time. NO STRINGS.
    My problem is that I don't know how to check to see if the first letter of each line is capitalized nor how to check if the first letter after the end of a sentence is capitalized.

How do I do that?

Please respond as soon as possible!

Thanks
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

FYI
    You can use isupper function for this, just use this at the starting and then on the character after the "\n"(newline) is encountered. You do this until you reach the EOF.

Regards
    Regards
    JK
  5. Google Relay Server
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

A sentence ends in a period. A line ends with '\n'. So your strategy could be:

1) Start reading data from the file. When you encounter the first alphabetic character, check if it's capital or not.
    2) Keep reading and ignoring characters until you find a period or a newline '\n'.
    3) Keep reading characters and check the next alphabetic character you find to see if it's capital. Go back to step 2.

Also, don't forget to stop at any time if you hit the end of the file.
  7. No Profile Picture

So I'm reading in my characters using cin.get(ch), does this mean that I can directly say something like

PHP Code:
    cin.get(ch); 
    if (
    ch==isupper
    ...I'm so confused. I'm not sure how I would say something like that to check to see if only the first character is capitalized.
  9. Google Relay Server

See the documentation for isupper for more details. But, isupper is a function that takes a single char as a parameter, and returns nonzero if it's an uppercase char or 0 if it isn't. After using get() to read a character in to ch, you can check if it's uppercase by passing ch to isupper and examining the return value: