1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Reading data from a 4 column file into an interger pointer variable

Hi,

I know how to read data from a text file and to store it in a variable.

I now have to read data from a 4 column file where each column is separated by a whitespace and store the data from the second column into an interger pointer variable. The length of the column is known in advance and is always fixed.

Can somone point me in the right direction by providing a snippet of the line that reads data from the 2nd column and stores into the interger pointer variable? Thats where I am stuck. I am not a programmer but rather someone who has to write code occasionally so this particular line is baffling me!
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

What language? This forum deals with C (in its various forms; eg C89, C99, Objective-C), C++, and C#. We would commonly assume C as per the 1989 ISO standard (AKA "C89") and what we would answer would also apply to C++, but not to C# and possibly not to Objective-C.

Let's assume C. Using fscanf would do the job, since each column is separated by whitespace. However, I would recommend first reading in the entire line and then processing that line. Look into fgets() to read an entire line of text from a file. Then look into sscanf to process the second column of that line of text.

BTW, *scanf and *printf are families of functions which all operate very similarly, but one variant works with the standard terminal files (stdin and stdout), another with files (substituting "f" for that "*"), another with strings (substituting "s" for that "*").

Find out about those functions and how to use them either with your compiler's help files or by Google'ing on man page function-name.

Once you know what function(s) to use, you can then Google for sample code (good luck on that! Like finding an old high school friend using a phone book.). Or play with the functions to figure them out.