1. Registered User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Reading and writing files

Hi all,

Im trying to write and read to a random access file in my c program, Im pretty new to the game so need a simple solution.

Ive written to my file in the following way:

/* Write the data to the disk */
    fp = fopen("A:vehicles.raf", "a");
    fwrite(&theVehicle, sizeof(theVehicle), 1, fp);
    fclose(fp);

theVehicle is a structure that holds:

char registration[10]
    char make[20]
    char model[20]
    int insuranceCat

I can write to the file fine, no problem, but how to I make it drop to a new line, so I can do a search for new lines later on? If I keep appending the new record onto the last, then it doesn't let me enter any more than 3 vehicle details for some reason.

Also, when I look in the file, I find I get loads of characters appear that weren't typed in. For example:

I type in as the model: Mondeo

The rest of the elements in the array sometimes come out as unrecognisable characters, do I need to pad out the array with " ", and if so, how?

The next model I type in is: 25

Then I look at the .raf file and it says '25 deo' Im assuming that its taking a bit of 'Mondeo' and sticking it on the end, how do I prevent this?

Finally, my problem is reading the files back, Ive read about fseek() but dont really know how to use it, Im trying to read one record back at a time, not the whole lot, as I want to perform matching searches on it.

I really appreciate any feedback and time you spend answering my questions.

Regards,
    Mike.
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Originally posted by flyingbuddha
    Hi all,

Im trying to write and read to a random access file in my c program, Im pretty new to the game so need a simple solution.

Ive written to my file in the following way:

fclose(fp);

theVehicle is a structure that holds:

char registration[10]
    char make[20]
    char model[20]
    int insuranceCat