1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Scanf limit characters

Hi, I'm new to C and still learning how to do things. My following program works fine, providing the user remains within the 20, 3 or 32 character limit. However once the user goes over that limit it causes problems.

So my question is, how do I use scanf in such a way, that I can limit the number of characters being typed in, or only take the first x number of characters from the data typed in and dump the rest.

Thanks.

#include <stdio.h>

void main( void ) {

char firstname[20];
    char lastname[20];
    char age[3];
    char serialnumber[32];

printf("What is your first name?");
    scanf("%20s", firstname);
    printf("What is your last name?");
    scanf("%20s", lastname);
    printf("What is your age?");
    scanf("%2s", age);
    printf("What is your serial number?");
    scanf("%32s", serialnumber);
    printf("\nYour name is %s %s your age is %s and your serial number is %s.\n", firstname, lastname, age, serialnumber);

}
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

Awesome! You recognize the problem. You're close, need only to reread and understand this paragraph from the scanf man page:
    Code:
                 An optional decimal integer which specifies the maximum field width.  Reading of characters  stops  either
                  when this maximum is reached or when a nonmatching character is found, whichever happens first.  Most con‐
                  versions discard initial white space characters (the exceptions are  noted  below),  and  these  discarded
                  characters  don't count toward the maximum field width.  String input conversions store a terminating null
                  byte ('\0') to mark the end of the input; the maximum field width does not include this terminator.
    It is absolutely ok to use extra space. Your compiler might use word alignments anyway.

char firstname[24]; /* 3 extra bytes. */
    /*...*/