Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Searching Text File

I am having some serious trouble with the following code. what its mean to be doing is searching the user Id in the text file and returning if it was found or not. I am new to c and dont know how to get rid of the errors i am getting so any help will be very helpful! Please help me!

Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>
    #include <string.h>

//delcaring the function prototypes
    void search (void);

main()
    {

search();
        flushall();

getchar();
        flushall();

return 0;

}//end to main

//function search
    void search (void)
    {
        FILE *fpcust;
        int i, len_string, lenght;
        int searchID [30];
        int temp[30];

printf("Please enter the user ID.");
        scanf("%d", searchID);

fpcust = fopen ("c:\\customers.txt", "r");
        rewind(fpcust);

if ( fpcust == NULL)
        {
            printf("File cound not be opened.");
            exit(0);
        }

len_string = strlen(searchID);

while (!feof ( fpcust ) )
        {
            for (i = 0; i < len_string; i++)
            {
                temp[i] = fgetc ( fpcust );
            }
            temp[i] = '\0';

//strcmp used for comparing both strings
            if ( strcmp ( searchID, temp ) == 0)
            {
                printf("The ID was found");
                fclose( fpcust);
                getchar();
                exit(1);
            }

else
            {
                printf("No matches found.");
                getchar();
                exit (1);
            }

//~ fseek ( fpcust, -(len_string - 1), 1);
        }
        fclose ( fpcust );
    }
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I am new to c and dont know how to get rid of the errors i am getting
    What are your errors? Please post the exact error messages exactly as they appear in your development environment.

Also appears to be posted here.