1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Should this be in C?

I was hoping for someone's expertise here.

I've been tasked to build a toolset for my employer. This toolset needs to accomplish a handful of things and I wanted to build it on a platform/language that could handle it (and that I could tackle).

10 years ago I was a proficient programmer in C, HTML, and Visual Basic with a little C++, scripting, and java in there. Now I'm extremely rusty but am willing to put in the time to get back into it.

This toolset needs to able to:
    1. Some type of interface to receive user inputted data (strings of text and yay/nay mostly) and click through prompts with multiple options.
    2. To open a web browser and output some of that data into some prompts that are there (I've done this one before in HTML/javascript).
    3. To put that data into some type of database (maybe SQL or just a spreadsheet - I've also done this before in VB).
    4. To parse that data and perform mathematical calculations on it (mostly probabilities).
    5. To pull from an email distribution list and email a template.

Thanks guys/gals!! I know you could all do it better but I've been jonesin for an excuse to get back into programming and this is a good kick in the pants....
  3. Lord of the Dance
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

If you want to use a web-based platform application, you could take a look at the ASP .NET framework which use C# as language and MS SQL as database.

Another alternative is to use PHP on Apache and then use MySQL as database.

HTML/CSS will of course be the main tools for the front end.

The above scenarios are the most common set-ups, IMO.
    If you like C(++) you could also create a cgi-module.
    There are also other kind of databases than MS SQL and MySql.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by Saitac