1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Simple C program, trouble with arrays, pointers, strings

First of all, I'm very new in C programming. Currently I need to write a simple program which converts a decimal number to the color code for resistances or capacitors in electrical circuits. For example: I input the number "4700", and it should print on the screen the color code which is yellow (4) violet (7) red (exp. 2). This is what I have so far:
    Code:
        int nDecimalcounter = 0;
        double dInput;
        char szColor[10][7] = {"black", "brown", "red", "orange", "yellow",
            "green", "blue", "violet", "grey", "white"};

printf("Give decimal value: ");
        scanf("%lf", &dInput);

while (dInput > 99) {

dInput = dInput / 10;
            nDecimalcounter = nDecimalcounter + 1;
        }
    So if I for example enter the number 4700, I'm left with an int value for decimalcounter, and a (double with the first 2 characters in it.
    So here are my 2 problems:
    1. I need to separate the 2 characters in the double, I need to end up with (double) 4 and (double) 7.
    2. Once I have 3 separate numbers, I don't know how to assign the correct colors to each separate number, and print these on the screen (instead of the numbers 4, 7, and 2). I'm thinking I need to use pointers or something like that but it confuses me.

Can anyone help me with this? (even the smallest suggestions are welcome)
  3. Contributing User

If you are so new to C programming, why not switch to Python? You'll be new to it too, but it will appear sometimes easier and more handy for your purposes (I do not mean C is bad).

1. I need to separate the 2 characters in the double, I need to end up with (double) 4 and (double) 7.
    I once added an article to my site about such conversion:
    Number to digits

Strictly speaking it is almost the same what you've done with decimalCounter already...