1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Static Variables

Hi all,

where static variables will be stored , in data segment or stack segment or in Heap?

Suri
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

i guess it depends on your OS/compiler combo...
    but never in the stack segment!

since you talk about segments, it is 16bit code, no?

for 32bit, afaik all data goes on the heap and you could say "data segment == codesegment == heap".

[disclaimer]
    i am not a compiler pro, so this might be completely wrong...
    [/disclaimer]

anyway, why do you care?
  5. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    Static variables go to your data segment, along with your global variables. The stack segment is for local non-static variables and arguments passed to functions. The heap is used for carving out dynamically allocated variables (for example, when you use malloc(), calloc(), strdup() etc.)

As MHirsch pointed out, on a 32 bit compiler, segments don't really exist because of the flat memory model. However, something similar does exists, they are called sections. Most object files have at least 3 sections within them (i.e.)
    data: for initialized global variables
    bss: for uninitialized global variables
    text: for the actual code itself.
    With a 16 bit compiler, each section may occupy its own segment in memory, depending on the compiler settings. BTW the above section info holds true for both gcc and turbo-c. You can see what it puts in each section by generating a map file when you compile a program. In gcc, the option goes something like -Wl,-Map,foo.map and in turbo-c, it is an option in the menu somewhere.

The linker takes all the obj files and merges the sections individually (i.e. all text sections together, all data sections together etc.) to produce the final executable.