1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Strange C code error....

Hi everybody, i am a beginner at C ... i often encounter some strange problems. :chomp: :chomp: .. so help me out guys..

this is a C code that prints the contents of a file...
    eventhough both the codes are same.. the one in the bottom (code 2) doesn't work ..i tried many times but " code 2 " doesn't work but "code 1" does...i dont get any output when i run "code 2"

code 1:

int main()
    {
    FILE *fp,*tp;
    char i,j;
    tp=fopen("shapes.c","rt");
    while((fscanf(tp,"%c",&j))!=EOF)
    {
    printf("%c",j);
    }
    fclose(tp);
    }

code 2:

int main()
    {
    FILE *fp;
    char stu;
    fp=fopen("shapes.c","rt");
    while((fscanf(fp,"%c",&stu)) !=EOF )
    {
    printf("%c",stu);
    }
    fclose(fp);
    return 0;

}
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Test the value returned by fopen(). If it's NULL, then the file failed to open. That should give you a clue.

#include errno.h . Before you call fopen, set errno to zero. Then when fopen fails (which is what I suspect, but only you can verify that), display the value of errno. Even better, call perror("fopen failed"); which will display a message such as "file not found".

Just out of curiosity, are both programs being run in the same directory? That being the directory that also contains the file, shapes.c.

PS

Odd, though. You act like it just didn't output anything. If you had tried to use a NULL FILE pointer, it should have blown up in your face, which would have been difficult to not notice.
    Last edited by dwise1_aol; August 29th, 2013 at 11:13 PM.
  5. Contributing User

Also, don't use italics for code listings. Instead use code tags. Italics don't preserve indenting, whereas code tags do.

For example, here are your listings with code tags -- original indenting recovered via the Reply button:
    code 1:

Code:
    int main()
    {
        FILE *fp,*tp;