1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

C string problem.

Hello. I am actually a student and I just started creating my own little programms but I have a problem. I tried to create a program which was supposed to reverse the word test(to tset). I managed to compile it but when I try to print the result nothing comes up. its empty. Heres the code.

#include <stdio.h>
    #include <string.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>
    char *convert(char *a);
    int main()
    {
    char a[5]="Test";
    char *p;
    p=convert(a);
    printf("%s", p);
    free(p);
    system("pause");
    }

char *convert(char *a)
    {
    char *array;
    int i;
    array=(char *)malloc(5*sizeof(char));
    for (i=0;i<5;i++)
    {

array[i]=a[5-i-1];
    }
    array[5]='\0';
    return array;
    }
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Use code tags to post code here. That preserves your code's formatting and keeps it readable.

Code:
    char *convert(char *a)
    {
        char *array;
        int i;
        for (i=0;i<5;i++);
        {
            array[i]=a[5-i-1];
        }
        array[5]='\0';
        return array;
    }
    Analyze array:
    array[0] = 't'
    array[1] = 's'
    array[2] = 'e'
    array[3] = 't'
    array[4] = '\0'
    array[5] is outside the bounds of the 5-element array and so "does not exist", but in reality by writing to this location you are clobbering (overwriting) whatever other data or function control value is stored there. The Thing and The Hulk can clobber, but you must not. Therefore, array[5]='\0'; is just plain wrong and must be corrected. But that's not the problem you wrote to us about.

This statement,
    array[i]=a[5-i-1];
    is clumsy and stylistically would be better rendered as
    array[i]=a[4-i];