1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

String to number conversion

Hey guys. This is my first time on the site and im just wondering if you could help me out in understanding what to do for a certain code.

I'm trying to get a user to enter in a string a word. After they enter the word I then am trying to convert that to a certain predetermined number by each letter. For example.

If the users enters: HELLO it would print out the following

if H = 1001 E= 011 L = 00001 O = 0010

I separated them with bold for to show each letter. And the its called the Huffman Encoding.

How would I go about doing this?

I tried to make a for loop that goes through the string and finds if it has each letter then print out the code in a different string using an if statement.

int i;
    char stringOne[100], stringTwo[100];

printf("Please enter a string: ");
    scanf(" %s", stringOne);

for(i = 0; i < 100; i++)
    {

if(stringOne[i] = 'A')
    stringTwo[i] = '0001';

}

Thats what I tried.

Sorry if that was very confusing but thanks in advance for the help!
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

stringTwo[i] = '0001';

That is so wrong in so many ways.

'0001' is absolutely meaningless in C. Single quotes are for a single character and there is no such character as that!

What is it that you really want to do? Do you want to take a string, "HELLO", and use it to generate another string, "100101100001000010010"? Then if you need to generate an actual bit stream, you can easily translate that "binary string" into an actual bit stream.

If that is not what you actually want to do, then I'm at a loss because I can't think of anything else you could actually be trying to do.