1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Strncmp segmentation fault.

Hi,
    I'm just a beginner in C programming so hopefully you can help me out.
    I have a problem that I have ran into numerous times. The code below tries to compare two hashes with eachother, when I print them I can see that both "first" and "second" are a 28 character long hash (not counting the '\0').

However, when I try to compare them using strncmp I get a segmentation fault. Am I doing something wrong with the strncmp? or am I doing something wrong before that but it just doesn't crash yet?

I am especially interested at what I am doing wrong rather than the correct way to do it. Both would be nice though :).

Thanks in advance!
    Code:
    char *first;
    char *second;

strtok( someText, ":" ); // someText is an existing variable
    first = strtok( NULL, ":" ); // printf("%s",first) now prints a hash 
    second = crypt(second, salt ); // printf("%s",second) also prints a hash

// I know the hash is 28 characters so:
    if( strncmp( first, second, 28) == 0 ){
    	printf("the same\n");
    } else{
    	printf("not the same\n");
    }
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Code:
    char *first;
    char *second;

strtok( someText, ":" ); // someText is an existing variable
    first = strtok( NULL, ":" ); // printf("%s",first) now prints a hash 
    second = crypt(second, salt ); // printf("%s",second) also prints a hash

// I know the hash is 28 characters so:
    if( strncmp( first, second, 28) == 0 ){
    	printf("the same\n");
    } else{
    	printf("not the same\n");
    }
    What memory is allocated to second? More specifically, to what was second initialized to point to before you called crypt()?