1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Got stuck with pointers

I am given an assignment to create my own shell. As a start i tried to write a code to parse input and print it. Here is my code

#include <stdio.h>
    #include <string.h>

parse(char *p)
    {

char str[] ="I am creating my own shell";
    printf ("Splitting string \"%s\" into tokens:\n",str);
    *p = strtok (str," ");
    }
    print(char *c){
    while (*c != NULL) {
    printf ("%s\n",*c);
    *c = strtok (NULL, " ");
    }
    }
    main(){
    char * pch;
    parse(&pch);
    print(&pch);
    }

I have no idea what are the errors. I am new to C language as well. Can anyone help me to correct this code please.
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

You don't know what the errors are? You mean you haven't even tried to compile that mess yet? Well get off your lazy butt and compile it already! Then tell us what the error and warning messages are! Jeez! Do you expect us to do everything for you?

And you'd better be sure to include the warnings! Warnings are much more important than error messages are! And never ignore warnings! If you get warnings, then your program is almost guaranteed to do something different from what you want it to do.

And use code tags!; eg:
    Code:
        #include <stdio.h> 
        #include <string.h> 

parse(char *p)
        {

char str[] ="I am creating my own shell"; 
          printf ("Splitting string \"%s\" into tokens:\n",str); 
          *p = strtok (str," "); 
        }
        print(char *c){
        	while (*c != NULL) { 
           		 printf ("%s\n",*c); 
          		 *c = strtok (NULL, " "); 
          	} 
        }
        main(){
        	char * pch; 
        	parse(&pch);
        	print(&pch);
        }
    And learn to format proper. Even with the indentation restored that's an unreadable mess.

Just a few things to start with: