1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Suggest a book or site to understand the exact execution of a C/C++ program.

Hi !
    I had joined C,C++ classes some time ago and now I would like to know how exactly a C/C++ program works, where are the variables and pointers stored and how exactly the if,for, while loops work and where are they stored. I would like to know how the code is executed in complete details. Since I have already completed the course I cannot go back and ask the faculties about it. I am new to programming and hence it took me time ti learn the basics and by the time my classes duration was over.Please suggest a good site/book that can describe and explain these in detail. I would be extremely thankful.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Infoseeker,

The storage and execution procedure will depend on your compiler and your operating system. Different compilers on the same operating system will store data and instructions differently.

If you're new to programming, you'll be better rewarded by focusing on programming fundamentals, and worrying about specific machine implementations later. Kernighan & Ritchie's "The C Programming Language" or Bjarne Stroustrupe's "The C++ Programming Language" are my recommendations for good instruction in that realm. Most importantly, get lots of practice.

If you don't have a compiler, the Cygwin is free, reasonably standards compliant, and works identically to its UNIX brethren. Of course, if you have a UNIX machine available to you then you probably already have a good compiler suite.
    Clay Dowling
    Lazarus Notes
    Articles and commentary on web development
    http://www.lazarusid.com/notes/
  5. No Profile Picture

Hi !!
    Thanks a lot for the reply and suggestions. I have bought Bjarne Stroustrup's book, but it seems to be very techie..but I am sure with practise I would be able to understand it. Thanks again for the reply.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User