1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

C++ Telnet program

Hi,
    I have a network power switch which is simply 8 power plugs. It has an IP address and can be asccessed via telnet. This allows someone to switch on an off power to equipment remotely by issuing commands via a telnet session
    My question is simple. I need to write a small C++ program which will open a telnet session and turn on an off switches at various times.
    My C++ is only fair and I've never done this kind of stuff before. Can someone point me in the right direction.
    Thanks Willl
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

How's your sockets programming? Or your C (it can just as easily be done in C -- you only stated that you are not that good in C++)? And what OS are you doing this on (that can make a big difference)?

To write your own telnet client, you would need to know both sockets programming and the relevant RFCs. Of course, you could also Google for sample code that you might be able to rewrite into your application (but remember to call it "research"). Be sure to factor the learning curve into your time estimates.

Our Linux instructor demonstrated using a shell script to automate the fetching of a stock quote from a web page (http) but using the built-in telnet utility.

Furthermore, if you are running tcl, then you could use expect to script the telnet session that you need. I haven't ever used expect myself, but I understand that it was created just for this kind of situation (ie, automating interactive sessions).
    Book resource: O'Reilly's Exploring Expect at http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/expect/:
    Exploring Expect

Full Description