1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

C++ Test on Lined Paper....

I recently almost failed a test in my C++ class. We had to write three simple programs on lined paper and turn them in at the end of class. Has anyone ever had to do that before? I can't see how writing programs on paper is any kind of accurate test of programming abilitys. How can one go about debugging a program on paper? I'm not a big developer or anything but I really enjoy programming in C++ (on a computer) and getting a bad grade doing somthing I like to do is very sad. So, is this typical and I just suck or is this instructor a weirdo?
    Last edited by Rdesign; October 16th, 2002 at 02:35 PM.
  3. Contributing User

I had to do a technical test for a investment bank which was similar to that..

You had to define a small subsystem that they defined in generic terms, and you had to increase the details and levels of code that you wrote as the questions went on..

It's hard, i found, as I develop iteratively, I use the help files, and look up sytax in books etc.. Writing it out on paper, will though, show what level of competence you are at..
  5. No Profile Picture
    Not there when you need me
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

My CS teacher believes that writing tests on paper prevents people from getting better marks by using the online help or code which one has written before or being better at typing than others (or looking at other people's screens or sharing files over the LAN ;) ).

Of course, this method of testing is usually far from reality - but have you ever managed to convince a CS teacher with reality? I haven't :(
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User