1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Using strcpy in a C Program

Hello I am new to the fourm. I am currently taking a basic C programming course at my local community college. I find C to be very interesting to me. In this course we are using simply gedit and the terminal to complete our programs and to run them. I am having a bit of an issue with a few lines of code.

[CODE
    ] /*--------------------------------------------------------------*/
    /* */
    /* Set the IF and ELSE IF */
    /* */
    /*------------------------------------------------------------*/
    if (totalScore >= 1200)
    (strcpy totalMessage, "Great");
    else if (totalScore >= 900)
    (strcpy totalMessage, "Good");
    else if (totalScore >= 600)
    (strcpy totalMessage, "OK");
    else (strcpy totalMessage, "Poor");[/CODE]

The issue I am having is I can not get my strcpy command to store the correct words into my character assignment. If anyone could lend me a hand it would be much appreciated. Also I will be seeking help from my professor so do not worry.

Thank you from a beginning programmer
    snf1694
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Your function call syntax is all wrong. Rather the correct syntax is:
    fn_name(argument list);
    So for example, you should write strcpy(totalMessage, "OK");

I was going to show you the errors that generated, but the error message, "parse error before `totalMessage'", wouldn't have meant much to a beginner. The meaning of error and warning messages may seem cryptic to you now, but as you gain experience and make a lot of mistakes in the process, then you will learn to associate the messages with particular types of mistakes you make. The reason why experience programmers understand those messages is because we've made a lot more mistakes than you have yet. Don't worry, you'll catch up to us. Give it time.