1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

War & Peace topic for a beginner who needs help.

Hello everyone. Im new to programming in C++ and Im new to this forum. But please hang on in, and see if u get what Im on about! Cheers.

Basically, I woke up one morning and realised that I wanted to program 3D games in Windows, Linux and Mac. Im not in one of those "I hate Microsoft" gangs, but I do prefer not to use their products. I want to try and stay clear of DirectX and would like to program in OpenGL instead. But where do I start, my friends?

My plan - if its a sh*t one, then please tell me otherwise! - I gonna start using Bloodshed's Dev C++ on Windows 98 to learn how to program in C++. I've currently brought two books - Sam's Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days and Sam's Teach Yourself Game Programming in 24 Hours. Though I haven't read thru the C++ book yet (it hasn't arrived in the post yet!), I have been able to set up a window and make a small game engine by following the second book. But I was able to do that by just writing out the code in the book - but I dont know what most of the stuff means yet. Though the book touches lightly on Win32 API to setup windows, I was wondering if there are any other books that will introduce me to Win32 API nicely and gently - just so I can understand the basics of what Im doing. The book stays clear of DirectX, which is what I prefer.