Thread: Words Counter

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Post Words Counter

Hi there.

I'm noob programming c and I'm studying with the Programming Language C book by Kernighan and Ritchie.

There is an example to count words and the code is the next:

#include <stdio.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>

#define IN 1 // In one word
    #define OUT 0 //out of word

main()
    {

int c, nl, nw, nc, state;

state = OUT;

nl = nw = nc = 0;
    while((c = getchar())!= EOF){
    ++nc;
    if (c == '\n')
    ++nl;
    if (c == ' ' || c == '\n' || c == '\t')
    state = OUT;
    else if (state == OUT){
    state = IN;
    ++nw;
    }
    }
    printf("%d %d %d\n", nl,nw,nc);

}

Anyway, my problem is that there are not mistakes in the code, but when I compile the program (in code blocks, by the way), I cannot watch the output, I mean, I cannot get the count of the variables.

I hope can you help me.

Thank very much.
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Read the sticky thread, Commonly Asked C/C++ Questions.

In Message #2 refer to 0.3 I cannot see my C compiler output. The window is closing too quickly for me.

Also, use code tags to preserve your code's indentation.
    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>

#define IN 1 // In one word
    #define OUT 0 //out of word

main()
    {

int c, nl, nw, nc, state;

state = OUT;

nl = nw =  nc = 0;
       while((c = getchar())!= EOF){
        ++nc;
        if (c == '\n')
            ++nl;
        if (c == ' ' || c == '\n' || c == '\t')
            state = OUT;
        else if (state == OUT){
            state = IN;
             ++nw;
        }
       }
        printf("%d %d %d\n", nl,nw,nc);

}
    I retrieved your original indentation via the Reply button. You can do the same to his message to view code tags.

You should have gotten something like the following warnings:
    C:\otros\dcw>gcc -Wall newb.c
    newb.c:8: warning: return-type defaults to `int'