1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

EMU8086 - Help converting 8-bit array to 16-bit array

I'm not new to programming, but I am fairly new to assembly and I am having a little bit of trouble converting over. I realize this is a simple process, but any and all help would be much appreciated.

I have two arrays declared:
    array1 db 10h, 20h, 30h, 40h, 50h
    array2 dw 5 dup(?)

I need to copy the data in the 8-bit array1 to the 16-bit array2.

I believe I need to store the data in one of the registers first, then transfer it over to array2. I am not sure the syntax to use for this or the correct process. Thanks.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

What have you tried / where are you stuck? If you have code that doesn't work post it here (surround it with [code][/code] tags to make it legible) as well as any error messages (or if its running what you expected to happen vs. what did happen).

If you haven't manage to write code yet, where are you stuck? Do you know how to create, assemble and run a program? How to move values between registers? between registers and memory? Can you code a loop?

As the sticky at the top of the forum says, no one here is going to do your homework for you, but if you show your efforts we can look for errors and point you in the right direction.
    sub{*{$::{$_}}{CODE}==$_[0]&& print for(%:: )}->(\&Meh);
  5. No Profile Picture

Thanks OmegaZero, I would rather no one just give me the code as well. I'm a learn by doing person.

I understand how to create, assemble and run a program. The only program I've done is taking values from an array, and adding them together. I also implemented a simple loop to do this process. I understand how to move data using "mov".

I could use a little clarity on the "mov" function. Does "mov" transfer data to a specified location. And is there a different function that just transfers the address, acts as a pointer?