1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Integer Square Root

Hi: I'm new to programming, and decided to learn Haskell. I am working through Thompson's book. Exercise 4.8 wants me to define a function which finds the integer square root of a positive integer by recursion.

I assume that I can use Newton's Method to successively approximate values of m in n = m^2. I want as my first approximation

m1 = (n/2) - (n - (n/2)^2)) / (2*(n/2)),

because this will generate a sufficiently close value for the square root function, and I want to define the square root by:

mi+1 = mi - ((n - mi^1) / 2*mi).

I'm fairly sure that this will define sqrt n. For the integer square root, I think I could use whole number division, so:

m1 = (div n 2) - (n - (n/2)^2)) `div` (2*(n/2))
    mi+1 = mi - ((n - mi^1) 'div' 2*mi).

(A) I don't understand how to get Haskell to define m1.

(B) When I use the "primitive recursion" format, I went from (n - 1), because of (A). But the following Haskell code doesn't work, and I can't figure out why (probably because it's incorrect, of course):

Code:
    isqrt :: Int -> Int
    isqrt n | n < 4     = 1
            | otherwise = isqrt (n-1) - div (n - isqrt (n-1) (2 * isqrt (n -1))
    This gives me syntax errors. But the (seemingly) equivalent

Code:
    isqrt n | n < 4     = 1
            | otherwise = m - (div (n-m) (2*m))
              where m = isqrt (n-1)
    gives me divide by zero errors. I'm not sure what is wrong: the math or my Haskell. Any help would be appreciated.
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

1) You might want to check out this thread in the C programming forum which specifically deals with square roots.

2) Why did you choose to learn haskell?

-Dan
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin