1. Hello World :)
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

Scheme. Reduce & filter

Hi all,

I'm just learning Scheme in my spare time while at Uni. Currently trying to write a simplementation of filter & reduce. I think I have filter working pretty well, maybe not like I said I'm new. Here's my code:

Code:
    (define filter
      (lambda (fn values)
        "This function is a tail recursive implementation of the filter function
        found in other Lisp dialect."
        (let loop ((v values)
                   (rest '()))

(let ((item (car v))
                (next (cdr v)))             ; Saves the car and cdr for efficiency.

(if (fn item)
              ;; Add the current 'item to 'rest if 'fn returned #t, then continue
              ;; though the list. Return 'this AND 'rest revsered.
              (if (pair? next)
                (loop next (cons item rest))
                (reverse (cons item rest)))

;; Don't add the 'item to the 'rest list but continue on though the
              ;; list.
              (if (pair? next)
                (loop next rest)
                (reverse rest)))))))
    If anyone has any comments or tips please let me know I'd be very happy to hear them.

Mark.
    programming language development: www.netytan.com Hula

3. fork while true;
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

car and cdr are equivalent to first and rest right?

wouldn't it make more sense to choose one standard and stick with it?

EDIT: apart from that, looks good
    Last edited by LinuxPenguin; January 11th, 2006 at 02:15 PM.
  5. Hello World :)

They are but it's not common to use first and rest for some reason, go figure .

I'm happy migrating between them right now because they all seem to teach something different or better, I'm playing with Scheme to improve my recursion, which sucks to be fair .