1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Talking Ajax vs javascript

Hi guys. I'm just getting started with ajax to use with PHP.

i'm reading a book that begins with some examples of where ajax can be used. One of these examples was when you select a country in a form, ajax dynamically returns the areas of that country in the next box. This could obviously be done in javacript alone so what is the difference and benefits of using ajax for this particular example and similar situations??

cheers

Anthony
  3. fork while true;
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

Fetching only the necessary content?

If there's a lot of content you would be fetching it from php in the first place and printing it onto the page for the javascript to work. In some cases that can be an awful lot of data. In some cases it may be fetching it off a different site where it's split into seperate sections so programmatically it would be an advantage.

fwiw, I think ajax is overused, i've seen entire sites written in ajax and that's ridiculous, you lose the ability to link to a specific page and you completely cut out older browsers that don't do ajax.

Use ajax where it is the best solution to a problem and nowhere else.
  5. (retired)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

The J in AJAX stands for Javascript. There's no difference.

-Simon

Comments on this post

• LinuxPenguin disagrees : (0) You've completely missed the point of the post. It wasn't a straight off comparison, it was 'why use ajax over straight javascript'
  7. No Profile Picture

Talking re

Hi guys thanks for your replies

Linux Penguin - yea that's pretty much what I thought. I wouldn't consider doing whole sites with ajax. I'm just looking at for improving a few UI features

SImon - There's no difference?? I knew it stood for javascript but I thought it combines javacript and XML to enhance javascripts abilities. E.g. Is this ajax form possible in javascript?? never tried it: