1. cosmos curator
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Where to get help writing "real" applications?

I've been doing web development for 8 years now, straight out of school. I'm completely self-schooled (thanks Google!) and fully conversant with OO-PHP, JavaScript, XSL, XQuery, and a whole host of other web technologies. I think its time for me to start toying with some proper programming. I'm not sure about which language to use, but at the moment thats now what I'm having problems with.

Coming from a dynamic-language background, I've been working in a land very distant to the actual hardware i'm using. I think its time I start working with bits and bytes rather than requests and responses.

So, in order to get to grips with writing "real" code, I've decided that a good beginning app would be a database. I'm not talking building an Oracle clone here, just something to get me started with compilers, etc.

My problem now is... where do I start? Once I pick a language, I'm sure I'll be able to get to grips with the syntax, idioms, and features very quickly.

What I'm not sure on is where I can find some introduction into the things the manuals don't/won't cover - how the file-system really works, working with binary information, parsing input, and (importantly for a database system) storage models.

So, can anyone point me in the right direction?
    R.T.F.M - Its the only way to fly...

"No matter what you do, or how good it is, someone will always ask for more features. Or to change the colour of something, then change their minds."

Personal:
    experience// 8 Years Web Development
    technologies// Standards-compliant, valid, & accessible (x)HTML/CSS, XML/XSL/XPath/XQuery/XUpdate, (OOP) PHP/(My)SQL, eXist/Xindice/XMLDBs
    packages// Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash/Fireworks/Director
    environment// FC2, MySQL, Lighttpd, PHP5, Mojavi/Agavi
    site// //refactored.net/ (Coming soon...)